Out on the town

Joel was out of town last weekend for a choral gig in NYC, so it was just me and Hannah from Friday night until this morning. We managed, somehow, to fill the time in this awesome city filled with fun and (almost) free things to do.   🙂

On Saturday, we took the T into Boston and had a picnic of Mediterranean food that I picked up from a cafe right off of the Boston Common. It was crowded, but not nearly as bad as I thought it would be.

Image

(The quizzical look is probably because she’s trying a bite of shawarma in this pic.)

After we ate, we headed across the street to the public gardens. First, I was thinking maybe we’d go by the playground on the common. Then I saw that it looked like this:

Image

So then I thought we would go and see if the Frog Pond was open yet. And I saw that it looked like this:

Image

Because it doesn’t actually open until next week. So we just headed over to the Public Gardens, and Hannah had a great time watching the swans and ducks, and people watching, and playing her newest game, which consists of saying, “Uh-oh, Hannah!” and flopping over in the grass. She did this probably seven times in a row and thought it was equally hilarious each time.

Image

Image

And also, someone had fun with the George Washington statue in the gardens:

Image

By the time the flop-fest was over, she was starting to look pretty tuckered out so we made our way home for a nap.

Sunday morning, Hannah came to work with me, and in the afternoon we didn’t do anything super-special. We did, however, go check out the Trader Joe’s that I didn’t realize we had relatively close to us. I think that was the highlight of the day.

Then, today we packed up in the car and drove to Natick for a play date with Hannah’s boyfriend. They had a great time playing in the sprinkler (NOTE TO SELF: GET ONE OF THESE!)

Image   Image

And playing with the water table:

20130624_123744

And enjoying a snack together:

Image

And sitting together, holding hands and generally looking adorable.

Image

Image

And after this, both Hannah and her guy were pretty exhausted–in fact, she sacked out in the car on the way home. In general, it was a successful weekend!

I didn’t do much cooking, so no interesting recipes to post. Actually, there is one. I made the carrot bread from this family of cookbooks, since I had a bunch of carrots in the fridge that were getting close to the end of their prime and I didn’t want to waste them. As I often do, I tried to cut back the sugar from 1/2 cup to 1/3 cup in the recipe, in the interest of making an already-healthy recipe even healthier. As it turns out, this was a dire mistake. The bread came out with a good texture, but not at all sweet, and this is a bread that needs a little sweetness. In fact, it was actually bitter and really unpleasant-tasting. Not the recipe’s fault–my own fault for messing with it. I’ll definitely make it again, but with the recommended amount of brown sugar. In fact, I’ve read a couple of other blogs by people who made this recipe, and apparently a lot of people actually add MORE sugar. So that was pretty disappointing, but a good learning experience. Less sugar does not always make a better recipe, and a “healthy” food will cease being healthy if it tastes terrible so no one wants to eat it.

2 thoughts on “Out on the town

Leave a Reply

