And the first “real” entry…… :)

Yesterday, I posted my first entry, but it wasn’t a real one. It was more of a test to make sure the blog was working properly.

I started this blog for a few reasons, none of them particularly inspiring or profound. One is that I just like blogging. I kept a vegan-food blog a few years ago, when I was vegan (I’m not anymore, but more on that later since I suspect this blog will spend a lot of time focusing on food and cooking), and I really enjoyed it. It fell by the wayside when we moved from Arizona to Massachusetts, but periodically since then I’ve thought, “I should start blogging again!” and then I would get distracted by something shiny or a squirrel and never follow up.

I also hope that this will be a way for my family–which is all spread out across the country, with almost none of my relatives living anywhere near where we are in the Boston area–to keep up with what’s going on in our lives. Also, baby pictures. Because as I learned when I had our first child, Hannah, twenty months ago (that’s her in the picture!), once you have a kid no one really cares about anything but the baby pictures. And when the grandparents of said baby live clear across the country–literally, we are almost spread as far apart as we could possibly be without occupying different countries–pictures take on a whole new significance. As do Skype and FaceTime.

Image                                     HannahRacecar

So what about us? Well, as I mentioned above, I’m a mother. I’m also a wife to the love of my life, Joel (here he is!)

Image (Seriously, this guy is amazing. Anyone who knows him in real life knows what I mean. He’s just……awesome.)

Aside from my roles as a mother and a wife, I’m a professional with a bit of an identity crisis. But more on that later, I’m sure. HOWEVER, in the meantime I have a great job that I love. I’m the Director of Religious Education for a Unitarian Universalist congregation up here in northern Massachusetts. It’s very different from what I went to school for, which is music education and choral conducting (in my previous life, I was a K-12 music teacher–looooooots of stories there!), but that’s okay. I’m very happy with what I do and very grateful to work for such a great community. It’s also a REALLY great gig for a working mom, so I’m very grateful for that.

Image (This is where I work. Seriously.)

Image

(This is a photo I took on my walk to work last November. Because I live close enough to work to walk there. Did I mention I love my job?)

When I’m not mother-ing, wife-ing or working, I spend a lot of time doing stuff related to food. Cooking it, eating it, reading about it, planning how to cook it…..specifically, I’m on a personal mission to feed my family the healthiest, most delicious meals I can, at as low a cost as possible, and waste as little as possible. More on that later. In fact, I suspect that that will be one of the major foci of this blog.

And because I spend so much time cooking *and eating*, I also spend a lot of my free time exercising. Okay, that’s not really true. I have fantasies of myself as a fitness fanatic, waking up early every morning to run and doing yoga on a picturesque hill at sunset, but so far there is an enormous chasm that separates fantasy from reality. But I do try to make time to work out a few times a week, and since having a kid I’ve found that the only way to do that really is to wake up before everyone else and do it really early in the morning. Which is part of where the title of this blog comes from. I also like to walk, which is an inclination that I’m pretty sure I got from my mother and hopefully I’ll pass on to my daughter. My mom (and my dad) and I have had a lot of great conversations on long walks, and they’re some of my fondest memories. I hope that Hannah will be able to say the same thing when she’s an adult.

That’s all for now. Come back again sometime!

Leave a Reply

